Print Page   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Community Search
BITSAA Global 30 Under 30 Awards

BITSAA 30 under 30 Awards 
The results are out for 2015 edition and can be seen at
We will return with the next edition in 2018. Until then, adieu.

Dear BITSians

At the end of 2005, BITSAA instituted the 30 under 30 awards, to be given every three years, to recognize and honor outstanding BITSians under the age of 30 who have demonstrated excellence in one or more of many areas. These awards are dedicated to all those young BITSians who thought and acted differently, who challenged the status quo, rewrote the rules, and created their own paths, to the best examples of what it means to be a BITSian.

The awards were well received in 2005 and 2009 by the winners as well as the whole of BITSian community. BITSAA Global 30 under 30 Awards are open to all BITSians graduated/graduating from Pilani, Dubai, Goa, Hyderabad and DLPD (distance learning programs). These awards will translate into opportunities and the winners become role models to others by providing inspiration and motivation to achieve success.

May 30 - July 30
BITSAA community nominates candidates
Aug 1 - Aug 15
Additional info / clarification requests to those who were nominated
Aug 15 - Oct 15
Processing of nominations and Round 1 evaluations (Panel)
Oct 15 - Oct 30
Round 2 Evaluations/ Final decisions
Nov 1 - Nov 15
Completion of announcement brochure
Dec 3 Results declaration

Note Regarding Eligibility Criteria:
 In the case where nominees have crossed the age of 30 between 2012 and 2015, but have shown significant achievements in any of the categories listed, they will be considered for this round of BITSAA 30 under 30 awards.

Judging Panel

Jayan Ramankutty (Chairman, BITSAA International)
Kris Ramachandran (Advisor to Chairman, Aditya Birla Group)
Prof. Balagopal Vissa (Professor, Insead)
Prof Raghurama (Former Director BITS Pilani)
Ajay Chaturvedi
 (Founder, HarVa)
Sanjay Nath (Blume Ventures)
Anu Hassan (Actress)
Mukesh Chatter (Neosaej)
Rajat Gupta (Mckinsey) (Leads McKinsey’s Energy and Materials Practice in Asia)
Ajay Chopra (Trinity Venture)
Punita Pandey (netCustomer Inc. )

Mani Shankar (Director)

Please click here to know more about the panel.


Please click here to nominate yourself/any worthy bitsians.

Award Categories

The categories below are intended to assist you in thinking of various areas that you or others have excelled in. However, if you or someone you know has done unique things that we don’t know about, please bring them to our attention.

Academia / Research & Development

This category is for BITSians in the field of Research and Development or Teaching / Imparting Education who have received awards, been accepted into academic programs or research centers to work on high profile projects. E.g. Working with famous professors on high profile subjects, co-authoring papers, receiving young researcher of the year awards.

Arts, Literature & Culture

Awarded to alumni for excelling in arts, music, writing and culture, and continuing to pursue their passion through public demonstrations at BITS or in the community. They may have published books, created works, produced albums or held exhibitions.

Social Entrepreneurship & Community Building

Awarded to alumni for being recognized or doing service in the community that has made a difference.


This category is for BITSians who have demonstrated their ability to build and run successful companies at an early age.

Invention & Innovation
Awarded to alumni for award-winning innovation or creativity in technical areas or for the successful implementation of a radical idea. E.g. Development of a software program that has been downloaded many times from the web.


This is a general category for BITSians who have demonstrated leadership throughout their lives during school, at BITS and today by being elected or nominated to many positions of responsibility E.g. Student run organizations at school, at BITS

Professional Achievement

This category is for BITSians who have demonstrated leadership potential in the workplace. Alums would have received awards, rapid promotions or responsibility out of proportion of their age in the workplace.


Awarded to alumni for excelling in sports at school, BITS, and continuing to pursue sport in the community, and winning awards/prizes for doing so. E.g. A top tennis player who has won tournaments while at school, BITS and continues to play competitive tennis and win after graduation in his or her city.  


2015 Winners
The winners from the 2015 edition have been declared. Please find the detailed information about the winners of 2015 edition at


Judging Panel

Prof. B N Jain (Vice Chancellor, BITS Pilani)
Raju Reddy (President & Chairman, BITSAA International)
Kris Ramachandran (Advisor to Chairman, Aditya Birla Group)
Dr. Ashok Agarwal (Entrepreneur; Adjunct Professor at BITS Pilani, Hyderabad Campus)
Prof. Reena Aggarwal (Professor, Georgetown University)
Prof. Krishna Saraswat (Professor, Stanford University)
Anurag Jain (Entrepreneur)
Phanindra Sama (Entrepreneur & Winner of 30 Under 30 Awards, 2009)
Manoj Saxena (Tech Entrepreneur; General Manager, IBM Watson)

Click here for their detailed bio.


2009 Winners
We are excited to announce the 2009 winners - read about these amazing individuals here who serve as the best examples of what it means to be a BITSian.

2005 Winners

For any questions, please email or or

Thanks and Regards,
BITSAA Awards Committee
Anupendra Sharma
Co-Founder &
Former Board Member
Rohit Koul
Diwakar Grandhi
Scholarships & Awards Team

Sign In

Forgot your username?

Bridges to the Future







Multimedia Gallery
Prominent Chapters
Prominent Initiatives
© Copyright 2008-2013 BITSAA International
Privacy Policy